Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: My puppy`s first period

Junior Member Junior Puppy Member

Unhappy My puppy`s first period

Hi everybody. This is my first post and i have no experience with female puppies. Anyway, my 5 months 20 days old Siberian Husky puppy seems like she got her first period. I was trying to clean her with baby wipes then saw the blood and i got scared! Is this normal or can it be something else other than period? I thought she was a baby. This is kinda weird. I am sorry if i sound stupid. Thanks for your help.

Mommy Status Senior Dog Member+
    It's very normal and it usually happens around 6 months!
    It sounds like she is in heat (not anything else) and you will need to keep her away from all male dogs for 3 weeks so that she doesn't get pregnant.

Thanks alot. Now i feel better. I will try to show her more care

Echo Senior Dog Member+ southern_girl09's Avatar
    Make sure you keep her away from males.. She is way to young to have puppies?

Are you planning on breeding her in the future? If not, after this heat, why dont you get her spayed?
    -Erin
    Echo(APBT)&Tattoo(JRT)

I am planning on breeding her after getting her hips checked. (probably when she is around 2 years old). My husband and I are planning on getting a male husky next year. So i do not want her to get spayed.

Protector of Dobes Senior Dog Member+ Dobified's Avatar
    On the frozen Tundra in an igloo with a polar bear named whitey.
    Ariel are you showing your dog ?
    In Flanders fields the poppies blow
    Between the crosses, row on row,
    That mark our place; and in the sky
    The larks, still bravely singing, fly
    Scarce heard amid the guns below.

Dobermonster Mom Senior Dog Member+ dobermom's Avatar
    Not to be disrespectful, but...if you are unsure of your dogs first heat cycle, and what to do about it, what makes you think you are ready to breed? You did say you have no experience with female puippies