Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best time to breed my lab??????

Best time to breed my lab??????

Hi-I am new to this sight,I have a Choc.Lab she is 14 months old.She came into season and I do want to breed her one time,Can this be done at 14 months??I will do whats best for her,but,the mess she is making is hard to handle and would like to breed her and than have her spayed,we want to keep one of her babies!Thanks for any help,Breann

Crazy Like My Boxers Senior Dog Member+ BratBoxers's Avatar
    Hips, elbows you cant have this done before 2yrs. I wouldnt breed her till she was over 2 years and passes her health tests. make sure you have done your home work on breeding and know what can happen.
    Bratcher's Kentucky Sunrise, CGC
    RagTyme Bratcher's Box office hit

Got Sheltie? Senior Dog Member+ weezyNollie's Avatar
    Well.. based on your questions.. you need to educate yourself first. The stage of her cycle you are describing is not the time you breed a bitch. I wouldn't recommend breeding unless you are FULLY prepared. Mentally prepared, financially prepared, educationally prepared, homes prepared for the puppies, a stud prepared, etc etc.
    The Herding Herd.
    Brooke, Weezy, Ollie, and Ralphie

www.coloradoanimalrescue.org

First off, good for you for educating yourself first!

Health clearances are definitely a must. You don't want to be selling unhealthy puppies.

14 months is too young. You have to wait for two years of age to health check her hips. If all looks well, then perhaps you could be one step closer to breeding.

I must urge you to seriously consider why you want to breed her. Visit a conformation show and talk to people. Does your dog look similar to the dogs in the show ring? Besides being a good pet, what other good things could she pass onto her puppies? Does she learn quickly? Is she trained to do anything?