Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is my dog Having a Miscarriage???

Full Member Full Dog Member akacutie2006's Avatar

Unhappy Is my dog Having a Miscarriage???

Hi,
    I am new to breeding dogs. I have 2 French bulldogs and I would consider myself a small hobby breeder. I take very good care of my dogs and love them dearly. Please only reply if you have helpful advise to offer.

So I have a 2 1/2 year French bulldog female that was bred last month for the first time. She was bred first on Jan 7th and then every other day until the 12th which was the last day she stood for the male. Yesterday I noticed her licking herself a lot and I looked to see why she was doing this. I then noticed a small amount of brown mucus was coming out of her vulva. I called my vet and they said to bring her on down to be checked out.

So My vet examined her and she didn't seem very concerned she said that because it was a brown color that it was most likely some residual blood left from the breedings that took place last month? Has anyone ever had this happen before? My vet also said that if Bunny is was having a miscarriage that there wasn't anything that they could do?

My vet then said that they could do an ultrasound to check to see if Bunny she was even pregnant from the breedings that took place. So I said yes to the ultrasound. I had planned on bringing her in for one anyway but I had wanted to wait until she was a little further along.

They took her in the back room to do the ultrasound. The ultrasound confirmed that she does have puppies in her belly!! They showed me four pictures that they took. My vet said that they looked like a good size and estimated them to be about 32 days along, she thought that Bunny must of took on the first mating. But My vet couldn't get Bunny to sit still long enough on her back to see if the puppies hearts were beating? Because of the mucous discharge she didn't want to stress Bunny out any more then she had to.